Positive Interaction

Over the last year I have found myself bogged down dealing with my company’s most difficult clients. You know the ones that are quick to point out your mistakes and seem to be waiting for you to mess up to call you out. Those clients and their “concerns” are a large part of what I do. And over time the cumulative effect has worn on me. Jon Gordon has some great tips on being a positive leader and suggests:

“High performing teams have more positive interactions than negative interactions. 3:1 is the ratio to remember. Teams that experience interactions at a ratio equal or greater than 3:1 are more productive and higher performing than those with a ratio of less than 3:1. Teams that have a ratio of 2:1, 1:1 or more negative interactions than positive interactions become stagnant and unproductive.”

So this year I have started reaching out to our happy, excited clients. You know the ones that sing your praises, recommend you to others, are quick to forgive a little mistake. I am finding ways to reward them, make them more happy. These positive interactions are not only helping my attitude, but growing business.

Too many times we spend all of our time focusing on the complaint driven, vocal minority and how we can help them. Don’t forget to focus on your all-star clients. Your time will be well rewarded and your happiness will be too!

1 thought on “Positive Interaction

Leave a comment