Value

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value.

-Albert Einstein

My goal for 2014 is to create value.  I think of value as your unique strength.  Too many times in the day-to-day operations of business I get caught up in the small stuff–paperwork, answering email, reacting to latest issue or problem.  Don’t get me wrong, these are all important for my projects/business to run smoothly.  But when you spend too much time greasing the wheels and not enough time driving are you sufficiently leading your team?

I feel like I bring the most value when I am able to step back and evaluate our programs, processes, and policies; when I research and provide useful data and information ; and when I help customers and team members accomplish their goals.  I spend a few minutes at the beginning of each month creating my “Value” goals for the month.  I make them specific and relevant.  Also because one of my overall “Value” items is to help others, I try to ask everyone on the team every single day, “What can I do to help you today?”

From business-to-business, position-to-position, value is created differently.  Ask yourself, “How do I create the most value for my business/team?”  The unique strength you bring to the team is why you were hired, why you were successful.  Use it!

Leave a comment